RCM Director, UIC President, Prof Tao Tang has been elected a Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASc).

EurASc is a non-profit, non-governmental, independent organisation of the most distinguished scholars and engineers performing forefront research and the development of advanced technologies, united by a commitment to promoting science and technology and their essential roles in fostering social and economic development.

Prof Tang is a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), and Fellow of the China Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (CSIAM). Widely known for his expertise in computational mathematics, in particular high-order methods and adaptive grid methods, Prof Tang was awarded the Leslie Fox Prize in Numerical Analysis, the Feng Kang Prize for Scientific Computing, First Prize in Natural Science by the Ministry of Education, and Second Prize in the National Natural Science Award. He gave an invited lecture at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in 2018.

Showing his appreciation for the international academia, Prof Tang says that becoming a Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences recognises his academic contributions and management. He will continue to lead UIC to develop a top-flight liberal arts education with solid cooperation between the Chinese Mainland and Hong Kong and most importantly, cultivate more high-calibre internationally-competitive students.

      近日,数学研究中心主任、北师港浸大(UIC)校长、中国科学院院士汤涛教授当选为欧洲科学院(European Academy of Sciences)院士。

      欧洲科学院(European Academy of Sciences)总部位于比利时布鲁塞尔,于2003年成立,是非赢利与非政府的国际性学术荣誉组织,主要由在科学与技术前沿的科学、工程、人文与社会科学领域的欧洲杰出学者组成,以促进科学与技术在社会与经济发展中的基础性作用。该院在九个不同学科领域拥有来自45个国家的600多名院士,包括65位诺贝尔奖和菲尔兹奖获得者。







RCM Director, UIC President, Prof Tao Tang ha...